Every two years SFMOMA honors contemporary Bay Area artists of exceptional talent and great promise with the SECA Art Award. This exhibition, with accompanying catalogue, is the culmination of an extensive selection process conducted in 2010 by curators and members of SECA (Society for the Encouragement of Contemporary Art), an SFMOMA art interest group celebrating its 50th anniversary this winter.From a truly outstanding group of finalists considered for the award, SFMOMA assistant curators Apsara DiQuinzio and Tanya Zimbardo selected the four current winners—Mauricio Ancalmo, Colter Jacobsen, Ruth Laskey, and Kamau Amu Patton—who have each developed singular approaches to the related aesthetic concerns of visual perception, abstraction, the handmade, reuse, and materiality.
e-flux » Announcements

// From our friends at E-Flux

Leave a comment